To Jesus through Mary.

         Sodality Union Archdiocese of Washington

                                                                                           To Jesus through Mary.




The Archdiocese of Washington Sodality Union, organized in 1918, consists of approximately 67 affiliate parish Sodalities.     

Our Lord Jesus asked the first apostles, and continues to ask His present day disciples, “What do you seek?”  (John 1:38).  In response to His invitation to “come and see” (John 1:39), each first Saturday of the month from September through December and February through June, Sodality Union journeys on a spiritual pilgrimage to a different parish in the Archdiocese.  (JOIN US on our monthly pilgrimages!)  We gather in prayer and fellowship, and assemble to conduct the organization’s order of business at a host parish. 

With the Holy Eucharist as the summit, and through devotion to and in imitation of the Blessed Mother, Sodalists embrace healthy habits of mind and heart, as well as Christian virtues to be good and faithful citizens, and courageous and understanding leaders for our families, our parish communities and the greater society.   

The aim of each Sodalist is to love and serve Jesus through Mary—our holy and humble model—and to achieve Spiritual growth and depth, using the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius that invite us to encounter God in our daily lives.   

Sodality Union is led by the Executive Council, whose members are elected officers, appointed Committee Chairs, the Advisory Committee comprising of Sodality Union’s past Presidents, and the Spiritual Moderator appointed by the Archbishop.  The Executive Council is entrusted to lead the group in a harmonious spirit of cooperation, generosity and respect; to enhance Sodalists’ spiritual life; and to engage each Sodalist in service for the common good of God’s people.   

Sodality Union unites the voice of parish Sodalities and encourages participation in the many spiritual and apostolic events sponsored and celebrated throughout the year by the group and by the individual parish Sodalities.


To Jesus Through Mary

* * * * * *

The Archdiocese of Washington Sodality Union, a Marian organization, fosters spiritual and apostolic unity among the Church of the Archdiocese; and promotes a Sodality Way of Life, a pathway to Jesus through Mary—built on Faith, Hope and Charity—“for the Greater Glory of God.”

We thank our our 2018-2020 Officers and Executive Council.

* * * * * *

Thank you and God bless our 2018-2020 EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

    Moderator:  Rev. Fr. Pawel Sass (Our Lady Queen of Peace, Washington, DC)

    President:  Lisa Williams (St. Gabriel, Washington, DC)

    Vice President:  Martha (Marti) Galvin (St. Hugh of Grenoble, MD)


    Recording Secretary:  Joyce Thomas (St. Luke, Washington, DC)

    Treasurer:  Janet Johnson (St. Augustine, Washington, DC)

    Correspondence Secretary:  TBA

    Parliamentarian:  TBA (Teresa of Avila, Washington, DC)

   Historian:  Cindy Perry (St. Hugh of Grenoble, Greenbelt, MD)

   Program Coordinator:  Mildred Steptoe (Teresa of Avila, Washington, DC)

   Spiritual Life Committee Chair:  Helen Awatefe (St. Mary's Church, Landover Hills, MD)

   Apostolic Life Committee Chair:  Sharon O'Brien (Resurrection, Burtonsville, MD)

   Membership Committee Chair:  TBA (Our Lady Queen of Peace, Washington, DC)

   Junior Sodality Committee Interim Chair:  TBA

  Ways & Means Committee Co-Chairs:  Bernadette White (St. Gabriel, Washington, DC)


  Hospitality Chair:  TBA (St. Luke, Washington, DC)


 Website Co-Editors:  Olga Baeza (St. Michael, Silver Spring, MD) and Cecelia D. Johnson (St.

    Augustine, Washington, DC)

    Past President’s Term and Name

                                                     1990-1991               Doris Edelin
                                                     1994-1996                Joan Butler
                                                     1996-1998               Graciela Stevens
                                                     1999-2001               Barbara Bechet
                                                     2002-2004               Alice D. Wilson
                                                     2004-2006               Katie Jackson
                                                     2008-2010               Elizabeth Coefield
                                                     2010-2012               Cindy Perry
                                                     2012-2014               Mildred Steptoe

                                                     2014-2016               Olga Baeza     

                                                     2016-2018               Shelia Parker

                                                     2018-2020               Margaret Johnson


Our prayers for our very dear friends Phyllis Toliver (1992-1994), Marie Brown (2006-2008) and Audrey Sommervile who were called home to their eternal rest over the past few years.

THANK YOU TO OUR VERY ACTIVE 2014-2018 Executive Councils.  

See link below for the 2014-2016 Biennial Report containing the EC's reports.